Wet and blustery

 

     They didn’t want to go out at all yesterday and I didn’t blame them.  It poured all afternoon and by nighttime, we had thunderstorms move through here.  Sometime, right before the first thunderstorm, the winds picked up—gusts of up to 65 mph.  The stop sign on our corner, post and all, made a short flight.  The racket was enough to make us bolt out of our chairs a step out on the windswept porch to see what had caused it.

     One of our large plastic trashcans made it from the side of the house to the back fence.  At least I didn’t have to fish it out of the pond.  I was surprised that the plastic bench I brought home from the MIL’s house stayed put.  I half expected to find that in the neighbor’s yard.

     The ‘fixed’ roof leaked again.  I wasn’t surprised since the heavy rain was wind driven.  Our roofer will be chagrinned.  He was certain he had the leakage stopped.  Sigh, one of these days I wish to have a home that doesn’t leak.

About doggonedmysteries

Agented Mystery Writer, Bull Terrier owner--I have one at the present time, Avid gardener.

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Weather related and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m with you on wanting a roof that doesn’t leak – been there and it’s not fun. Though with what you described I’m glad that nothing worse happened. That was quite a storm.

    One non-leaking season would be nice. If it isn’t the roof leaking it’s the basement.

  2. This comment is a repeat worthy of repeat many times….my dear…remember the words of your DH while he stood over the smoldering pit of my destroyed home years ago…You don’t need to look very far to see people that didn’t make it through as kindly as we did…many lost everything.

    I am humbly chastised.

Leave a comment