I wanna get outta here

How does one convince a stubborn old man that a move to another locale could be the best thing ever?

He’s lived in the same house for 63 years. I’ve lived with him in it for 42 years and have hated the house from day one. Even after tearing out walls and stuff, the house is still his parent’s house.

The house is just shy of one hundred and fifty years old and it is falling down around our ears a little at a time.

I am tired of paying for repairs that keep us just ahead of disaster. For example, most recently, the front porch we had fixed.

I want central air conditioning. I want a patio or a deck, maybe even a screened in porch. I want to be all on one floor. Him climbing the stairs scares me to death all the time.

I don’t want to go down another flight of stairs into a dank cellar to do my laundry any more.

I would kill to have more than a 40″ by 12″ work space in my kitchen. Get out your tape measure and see exactly how much space that is.

Does he give one shit about any of that? Nope. As long as he has his lounge chair and his big TV cranked to top volume he doesn’t give a damn.

I am one lottery win away from outta here. Unfortunately, that is my only out.

Writer TToday’s shirt.

About doggonedmysteries

Agented Mystery Writer, Bull Terrier owner --we have two, Avid gardener.

Posted on February 24, 2016, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

