The Hello Crow

The cemetery next door is a winter home for a rather large murder of crows. Because of this we have to walk the yard before taking the dogs out to find and clear up bones and other garbage that the crows and squirrels drop in our yard. Both creatures scavenge from open trash cans around the area. (Too bad people can’t keep the cans covered but instead risk people’s dog’s health…if I miss just one bone…)

Yesterday while out with Gavin, I had the pleasure of meeting our old friend Hello Crow. He’s part of the murder and has been around for many years. We know him by his distinctive ‘Hello’ which makes us believe a woman raised him. His ‘hello’ is a fairly high pitch and quite clearly a hello.

He sat high up in the tulip poplar and said hello to us many time. I, of course, responded in kind.

I’m sure the people passing by thought I was completely strange, but I don’t care.

I wish I knew who to credit this picture to but I do not.

About doggonedmysteries

Agented Mystery Writer, Bull Terrier owner --we have two, Avid gardener.

Posted on January 18, 2016, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. First – love crows! They are very intelligent and it does not surprise me at all that one talks to you 🙂

    Second – totally different topic (MS). An article from the BBC, which you may have already read, but I thought of you both immediately – http://www.bbc.com/news/health-35065905

  2. I love a story where humans and wild animals share a bond of any kind.

Leave a Reply

