Can two objects occupy the same space?

 

     Today Gavin proved that the answer to that question is no.  How did he prove it?  Well, that’s the story for tonight.

     I had Gavin out in the yard.  He was behaving, sniffing around looking for a place to mark, when the kids across the street began doing a mad dash up and down the sidewalk.  Gavin got excited and began to bark at them.  Me, being the idiot I am, decided it was time to leash him and take him inside before he became too wound up.

     He was standing still at the front fence barking at the kids.  I reached for his collar to snap on the leash so I could drag him away from the fence.  At that moment he decided to dart to his left.  Where was I standing?  I was at his left. 

     Now if you’ve never met a Bull Terrier in person you have no concept of what their heads are like.  Think cinder block and you’ll have a decent idea.

     Think fast, if I was at his left, and he dashed to his left, can two objects occupy the same space at the same time?  The previously mentioned objects being Gavin’s cinder block head and my freaking knee, I say NAY.  I also said ouch, and many other words in a sailor’s vernacular that tinged the air around me a lovely, bright shade of blue.

     Yeah, go ahead and call me a klutz.  You can even call Gavin an idiot for not looking where he was going.  Now, if you all will excuse me, I need to pack my knee in ice again.

About doggonedmysteries

Agented Mystery Writer, Bull Terrier owner --we have two, Avid gardener.

Posted on April 6, 2010, in Dog related, Misc, My blog, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Here’s the thing. Two objects occupying the same space at the same time involves molecular displacement. Sounds simple enough since molecules are always moving. At least so my dad explained when I was ten and he knew everything. Which is why I spent many many hours trying to ever so slowly put my hand through the wall, desk, dining table and etc.

    Fortunately for my hand, I did grasp the concept of slowly. But, it wasn’t until years later that I discovered what was meant by slowly and I can assure you that even if the theory is sound, we are talking about slowly in the sense of unimaginable time.

    Perhaps next time try levitation?

    That might work… :)

  2. Um, I think the term for bull terrier should be changed….to bulldozer LOL

    I had a lot of words for them yesterday, but bulldozer wasn’t one of them… :roll:

  3. jim messenger

    let me think, you said things like gosh aufol darn that realy hurts right ? lol

    Um, yeah…sure…okay.

    How’s your Mom doing?

  4. I don’t think a sailor’s vernacular includes gosh awful darn or that really hurts…it would be more like %&*# and $#%&*@ or something similar lol

    :lol: I learned my best words at my Grandma’s knee. Oh, boy could she cuss!

  5. I learned a few from my grandmother, too. Only problem was, she said them in Italian. It was years before I understood the English version, lol.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 824 other followers

